Cubs work towards various skill and interest badges based on their age.  There is the Caracal Trail for 7 year olds, Cheetah Trail for the 8 year olds, Leapard Cubs for the 9 year olds and the Lion Cubs for the 10 year olds.  The Leaping Wolf badges are for those who are preparing to move up to Scouts.

The Jungle Book

Many of the traditions and names in Cubs are based on Rudyard Kipling's The Jungle Book.  For example, the leader in charge of your Pack is called Akela. Other leaders (called Scouters) have names like Baloo and Bagheera.


The Cub Law:

“The Cub gives in to the Old Wolf

The Cub does not give in to himself.”


The Cub Promise:

“I promise to do my best –

To do my duty to God and my country;

To keep the Law of the Wolf Cub Pack

And to do a good turn to somebody every day.”


The Cub Motto: